top of page

The Five Love Languages – And Why We Can't Speak Any of Them

Picture this: you and your partner are having a conversation, and you say "I love you," to which they reply "Thanks, babe!" Wait, what? Thanks? That's not the response you were hoping for. But it's not their fault, right? They just speak a different love language.

The concept of love languages has been around for a while now, but it's still a mystery to some. According to Gary Chapman's book "The 5 Love Languages," there are five different ways people express and receive love: words of affirmation, quality time, receiving gifts, acts of service, and physical touch.

Now, imagine you and your partner have different love languages. You're a words of affirmation person, and they're a quality time person. You're constantly telling them how much you love and appreciate them, while they're trying to spend as much time with you as possible. Sounds like a recipe for disaster, right?

Well, not necessarily. The good news is that it's possible to learn each other's love languages. It may take some time and effort, but it can be done. The key is communication. Talk to your partner about what makes you feel loved and ask them what makes them feel loved.

What are The 5 Love Languages:

1) Words of affirmation

2) Acts of Service

3) Receiving Gifts

4) Quality Time

5) Physical Touch

Let's start with words of affirmation. According to the book, this love language is all about expressing love through words. Saying things like "I love you" and "You mean the world to me" are supposed to make your partner feel loved and appreciated. But let's be real, sometimes our brains just don't work that way. Instead of saying "I love you," we end up blurting out something like "I think your hair looks nice today." Not exactly what the book had in mind.

Next up is acts of service. This one is all about doing things for your partner to show them you care. Things like cooking dinner, doing the laundry, or picking up their dry cleaning are supposed to make them feel loved. But what happens when you're both terrible at this love language? Well, you end up eating takeout every night and wearing wrinkled clothes. Oops.

Then there's receiving gifts. This love language is all about giving and receiving thoughtful gifts. A thoughtful gift can make your partner feel appreciated and loved. But what if you're terrible at gift-giving? You end up giving your partner a half-eaten bag of chips you found in the pantry because you forgot it was their birthday. Not exactly the kind of gift that makes someone feel loved.

Quality time is the next love language on the list. This one is all about spending time with your partner, giving them your undivided attention. But what if you're both terrible at this love language? You end up sitting on the couch scrolling through your phones instead of having meaningful conversations. Or worse, you're both playing video games and not even acknowledging each other's existence.

Finally, there's physical touch. This love language is all about showing love through physical contact. Holding hands, hugging, and kissing are all supposed to make your partner feel loved. But what happens when you're both terrible at physical touch? You end up awkwardly patting each other on the back instead of giving a loving embrace.

So, what's the moral of the story here? Well, maybe the love languages aren't the end-all-be-all of communication in relationships. Maybe we just need to find our own way of communicating with our partners. And who knows, maybe our own love language is just saying "I love you" in our own weird and quirky way.

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


Rated 0 out of 5 stars.
No ratings yet

Add a rating
bottom of page